Skip to main navigation.
empty empty empty empty


Missouri’s electric cooperatives are non-profit power suppliers owned by their members. Each cooperative is governed by a board of directors elected from the membership.

There are 40 distribution cooperatives which provide electricity to individual homes, farms and businesses. Some of these co-ops are quite large while others may serve just one county. Missouri’s smallest electric cooperative has just over 2,000 member-owners while our largest has more than 40,000 members. Regardless of size, each operate in a similar fashion. Each member-owner has one vote at an annual membership meeting at which bylaws are approved and board members are elected. The board members, each a member of the cooperative, set policy for the co-op to direct day to day operations. For a printable map, click here.

Missouri’s electric distribution co-ops buy wholesale power from Associated Electric Cooperative, headquarted in Springfield, Mo. Like the local electric cooperatives, Associated operates on a not-for-profit basis and is owned by those who use the services it provides – in this case, Missouri’s distribution and transmission cooperatives.

For a nationwide list of statewide associations, click here.



Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo